Dystopia 2012 Reading Challenge

With next year supposedly being the end of the world and all (hey, it’s suspicious that my driver’s license expires around that time )…why not join the Dystopian Reading Challenge hosted by Bookish Ardour? If you want to join you have till the end of this month.

I know that dystopia isn’t necessarily about post-apocalyptic worlds but that’s usually what I associate them as. For an all-out explanation of what is considered dystopia, Diva Schuyler over at Dystopian Divas has a good definition.

Here are the challenge levels:

Challenge Levels

  1. Asocial– Choose 5 books to read
  2. Contagion – Choose 15 books to read
  3. Soldier – Choose 30 books to read
  4. Drone – Choose 50 books to read
  5. Conditioned – Choose 75 books to read
  6. Brainwashed – Choose anywhere between 76-135 books to read
  7. Totalitarian – Choose anywhere between 136-200 books to read

I’m going for the Asocial challenge level.
I’m not sure yet which books to read but am considering some of the following:

Brave New World by Aldous Huxley
Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? By Phillip K. Dick
Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury
The Running Man by Stephen King and Richard Bachman
The Obernewtyn Chronicles by Isobelle Carmody
Unwind By Neal Shusterman
Feed by MT Anderson
Enclave by Ann Aguirre
Prized by by Caragh M. O’Brien
All These things I’ve Done by Gabrielle Zevin
Exodus by Julie Bertagna

I’d like to crossover into some other challenges as well…we’ll see 🙂

13 comments

    1. I know 🙂 It is fun choosing different challenges. Good luck on your Tea & Books reading challenge and your War and Peace group read. I’ll be following your progress 🙂

    1. Oh! also Oryx and Crake by Atwood would be dystopian. I think cause I like YA it’s easier to find dystopian stuff. Hey I bet you could find dystopian comics for your graphic novel challenge. Like Y:The Last Man, and I’ve always wanted to read Transmetropolitan (I have a plant named Spider Jerusalem)…that would work too 🙂

      1. dystopian graphic novels are a good idea!! And Y is a good choice….since I’ve always wanted to read it (the thought of buying all those not-so-cheap volumes is what has stopped me all these years). To cut on the cost, I normally try…TRY to read one-shot graphic novels, but I don’t know a lot. Any suggestions? I recently bought one that looked really cool, with an interesting story – A Flight of Angels.

      2. Good idea about one-shots. As it is I only have two volumes of Y and when I ordered it the comic book store people acted all weird about it and wanted to charge a whole bunch. Oh, and A Flight of Angels looks awesome (I like Holly Black), I hope you review it. As for suggestions, I’m not too sure…the only ones that come to mind are V for Vendetta and Ruins and I haven’t read either. I’ll keep a look out 🙂

  1. I’d like to read Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?. I love the movie.
    But you got other interesting choices, some I know, some I’ve never heard of.
    I’m never sure what Dystopia means or mix it up with other genres. Is The Hunger Games Dsytopia as well?

    1. I saw the movie for the first time last month…that part where Roy is giving his little speech in the rain made me want to cry. Gah. I believe The Hunger Games is considered dystopian fiction. I’m never sure on the genre either, but if it’s post-apocalyptic (but then that’s it’s own genre, right?) and the government sucks then I figure it might be dystopian. Lol The term (genre?) that really confuses me is Speculative fiction…

  2. OMG!! Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury is awesome!! If you ever finish it, I want to send you my continuation ending that gave it closure for me. My teacher said it was phenomenal, but I was 14, so she could have been exaggerating!

    1. Awesome! Now you can count the Hunger Games trilogy to your challenge 🙂 I’ve been busy with school so I haven’t been able to blog as much as I would like either, but I’m glad you’re back.

      1. I suppose that I can add the Hunger Games books! Some of my favorite books are dystopian novels, so I’m looking forward to learning more about the genre.

        Good luck with school. 🙂

Leave a Reply

