Top Ten Tuesday: Rebels

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke & The Bookish.

Today its Top Ten Rebels In Literature (characters or authors) — Those people who stood up for what they believed in despite the cost of doing so.

*Authors*

1.Henry David Thoreau– Wrote the essay Civil Disobedience, and was briefly imprisoned for refusing to pay the poll tax. He refused because of his opposition to the Mexican-American War and slavery.

2. Vasily Pavlovich Aksyonov– Russian writer and novelist, who In 1980 left the Soviet Union and was stripped of his citizenship for writing against the Stalinist political system. His ideas and values led to problems and two of his novels could not be published there.

3. Joseph Brodsky– Brodsky’s poetry was denounced as being anti-Soviet. He was interrogated, and twice put in a mental institution. If that wasn’t enough he was then arrested and sentenced to five years hard labor and served 18 months on a farm in some arctic region. In 1991, Brodsky became Poet Laureate of the United States.

4. Esteban Echeverria– Argentine writer who like the others mentioned wrote literature that was objectionable to the leaders of his country. He was forced into exile in Uruguay.

5. Daniel Defoe– Before Robinson Crusoe, Defoe was imprisoned for writing pamphlets that helped incite rebellion with its political satire.

*Characters*

6. Huckleberry Finn– Despite the mentality of the South at that time, Huck works against this and figures out the right thing to do. He makes his own rules, and decides to help Jim escape even though he would be punished.

7. Robin Hood-Robbed from the rich to give to the poor.

8. Cordelia from King Leer– Well, Cordelia is the only virtuous one who refuses to take part in King Lear’s love test. Poor Cordelia.

9. Katniss Everdeen– Humiliates the Capitol and becomes the poster child for the rebellion.

10. Alanna of Trebond-From the Song of the Lioness Quartet by Tamora Pierce. Alanna hides her gender so she can train to become a knight. She simply doesn’t want to become the perfect lady.

So who comes to mind for you guys?

18 comments

  1. Huck Finn is my favorite! I love his quote when he decides not to turn Jim in as a runaway slave. “All right then, I’ll go to hell.” What a line.

  2. Really thoughtful list. It makes me want to go back and redo mine. Ha! I like that you had authors identified as rebels. Hmm…I’ll have to put on my thinking cap and see if I can think of any others.

  3. Robin Hood *slaps forehead* completely slipped my mind. Katniss is on my list, too, though I didn’t think of Alanna. And Huck Finn, definitely!

    Love your blog– I’m a new subscriber! Going to have to check out all of those challenges on your sidebar. 🙂

    My Top Ten

    1. @ Kat New subscribers make my day and once I figure out how to subscribe to yours ( Atom always confuses me,) I’m in. Lol Your challenges look awesome. I really want to try the Dystopia one.

  4. Good List! What about Tyler Durden from Fight Club? He was a rebel, even if he was crazy!
    “You’re not your job. You’re not how much money you have in the bank. You’re not the car you drive. You’re not the contents of your wallet. You’re not your fucking khakis. You’re the all-singing, all-dancing crap of the world.”

  5. Also, okay first off–I love Civil Disobedience. But the man only spent one night in jail. On the other hand, he was in inspiration to Ghandi, another great rebel.

    1. @ uncoolghoul Lol…still he refused to pay six years worth of poll tax. And if his aunt hadn’t paid it for him he probably would have made a home in there.
      I’ve never read Fight Club, but this Tyler Durden sounds pretty hardcore. Lol.

      1. IDK about that. I imagine that Henry David Thoreau’s family probably rolled their eyes at their hippy relative. Like I said, I love what he wrote and what he tried to stand for, but honestly, he never truly stood alone, never truly lived off the land, and was never truly in any kind of danger for “rebelling” thanks to his caring friends and family of means. Haven’t you seen the movie Fight Club! Good movie, good book.

  6. Lots of heavy-hitters on your list (especially in the Authors section). I remember reading a little bit about Echeverria in high school, although that was many moons ago so it’s all kind of fuzzy now.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog, and I love the homage to “Winnie the Pooh and the Blustery Day.” 🙂 Are you excited for the new movie coming out this month? I’ll never be too old for Winnie.

  7. I did consider listing banned books/ rebel authors too. I do admire writers who stand up for what they believe in. Robin Hood is one of the original rebels I think.

  8. The first character that came to mind was Heathcliff, but maybe because he was an anti-hero instead of a rebel. Well he was a rebel in his own way…rebel against society and convention. Then again, everyone from Wuthering Heights would be considered a rebel 🙂

Leave a Reply

