Top Ten Settings In Books

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke & The Bookish.

Today its Top Ten Settings In Books (All those real or imagined locations/worlds you loved reading about OR settings you think would be perfect in a book)

1. Camp Half-Blood from Rick Riordan’s Percy Jackson series
I’d love to live at Camp Half-Blood permanently. I mean cabins honoring each god or goddess, secret training facilities and borders that keep out bad weather, mortals and monsters. Plus all sorts of Greek traditions are upheld and you get to decorate camp beads based on the biggest event of the summer.

The landscape was dotted with buildings that looked like ancient Greek architecture—an open-air pavilion, an amphitheater, a circular arena—except that they all looked brand new, their white marble columns sparkling in the sun. In a nearby sandpit, a dozen high school-age kids and satyrs played volleyball. Canoes glided across a small lake. Kids in bright orange T-shirts like Grover’s were chasing each other around a cluster of cabins nestled in the woods. Some shot targets at an archery range. Others rode horses down a wooded trail, and, unless I was hallucinating, some of their horses had wings.

2. Never-Never Land from James Barrie’s Peter Pan
Where no one has to grow up, and I’d cease to age. It’s a land of eternal escapism and I’d never have to get a job. Plus who can resist a place where pirates and mermaids live?

Neverland is always more or less an island, with
astonishing splashes of colour here and there, and coral reefs and rakish-looking craft in the offing, and savages and lonely lairs, and gnomes who are mostly tailors, and caves through
which a river runs, and princes with six elder brothers, and a hut fast going to decay, and one very small old lady with a hooked nose.

3. Theatre Illuminata from Lisa Mantchev’s series of the same name.
Walking around with every character ever written for the stage sounds like you’d never be bored.

4. Marvel Universe/ Earth 616
Basically the same kind of world except all the Marvel characters live there.Wouldn’t it be cool to run into the X-Men or the Misfits? I’d love to catch some kind of battle on the street with my camera-phone.

5. Middle Earth created by J.R.R. Tolkien
I’d love to live with hobbits whose meal times include breakfast, second breakfast, elevensies, luncheon, afternoon tea, dinner and supper. Yeah, I’d fit in right away.

6. Hundred-Acre Wood created by A.A. Milne
Winnie-the-Pooh, Tigger, Piglet and Eeyore need I say more?

7. Hogwarts created by J.K. Rowling
I’d still like to go even though I’d probably end up in Hufflepuff. Hey, Tonks was in Hufflepuff…she was pretty cool.

8. Avonlea from Lucy Maud Montgomery’s Anne of Green Gables.
When I was little I always wanted to live on Prince Edward Island and that’s because I grew up in awesome Florida.

9. Sleepy Hollow created by Washington Irving
I wouldn’t want to live there, but it’s certainly memorable. I wouldn’t want to see the Headless Horseman.

10. Tri-Cities, Washington
Alright nothing special like Camelot or something, but I’d like to Live in the fictional Mercy Thompson universe and run into Stefan at least for one week.

What are your top settings or locations?

8 comments

  1. Hogwarts is my favorite. I’d get lost in all the educational aspects of the novels lol who wouldn’t want to take those classes? Plus living in a castle with moving staircases and a hall monitor cat would be awesome! The ghosts would freak me out though….

  2. I LOVE middle earth by Tolkien and Hogwarts and never land and oh, everything! I get so caught up in these made-up places I dont think its very healthy!
    But you forgot Terry Pratchett’s Discworld, the flat world on 4 elephants all balanced on a giant turtle, thats my favourite

  3. I so agree with you on Hogwarts. And Avonlea and Narnia are good piks too. Avonlea seems like a great adventure.

  4. Hogwarts is an amazing environment! The detail that the author came up with is amazing. I don’t think I would have thought of that one. Great list!

Leave a Reply

