Top Ten Beach Reads

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke & The Bookish.

Today its books that should be in a beach bag. Summer is a wonderful time to get away with reading fluff that I usually read all year anyway. Usually books that have “beach” or “summer” in the title could be contenders. Maybe Sarah Dessen books? Since at every book store I’ve been in recently there’s a display with all of her books as must reads for summer. Except I’m not a big fan and I usually hate contemporary drama books about summer flings. So we’ll see…perhaps a book with a mermaid in it.

  1. Chew Volume 1: Taster’s Choice by John Layman & Rob Guillory- I heard a friend ask about this at the comic book store the other day and of course I want to read it now. It’s about a detective who is a cibopathic… it means he gets psychic impressions from whatever he eats. It sounds weird, but interesting. Gross, but intriguing? 
  2. Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn & David Levithan- Apparently this book is about a scavenger hunt during Christmas time, but I’ve always wanted to read it. Besides it gets too hot here anyway. It would be nice to cool down at least in my imagination.
  3. How the States Got their Shapes by Mark Stein- Am I the only one who loves this show? I don’t really like reading about history, but somehow this is interesting and fun. Like state trivia and stuff. It goes through the states alphabetically and talks about each of their borders.
  4. Fruits Basket by Natsuki Takaya- I usually reread this series every summer anyway. It was one of my first manga reads ever so it’s special to me. It’s about a family curse and an orphan girl who tries to break it out of her love for them.
  5.  Gone With the Wind by Margaret Mitchell- I’ve never felt compelled to read this book, but it seems like everyone I meet has read it and loved it. Might as well try it this summer.
  6. Undead Series by MaryJanice Davidsondefinitely chick-lit. A friend kept telling me to read these, but I thought they were too silly.They are, but it would be fun to read during the summer it full of laughs and pretty creative. Basically a former model wakes up dead and through a series of hysterical events finds out she is the prophesied Queen of the Vampires. My only complaint is that the last book is horrible, but the next book is out next month so hopefully it will fix things. 
  7. Heist Society by Ally Carter- A heist pulled by teenagers. Who can resist?
  8. The Iron Duke by Meljean Brook- I hate steampunk, I mean it’s cool and everything I just can’t manage to get into anything steampunk. I’ve always wanted to read the Iron Duke though so maybe I can break through that barrier this summer.
  9. Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card- I haven’t read much sci-fi,but these books are really popular at the library. A child genius who must save the world sounds exciting anyway.

10. Runaways – This is nothing new, I think this Marvel series started in 2003. It’s about a group of runaways who find out their parents are super villains. I’ve only read the first six issues, but I’m hooked already.

What about you guys? What are you planning to read this summer?

10 comments

  1. I’m on the lookout for something summery or something that will interest me during the summer. You’re right…good time for fluff. Picking out books is fun and sometimes I try something new or different from my usual to-read list. That’s when I started Evanovich last year.

    I have read Gone with the Wind but don’t remember exactly what I thought about it, being a few years ago. I think I liked it more than I thought I would. It is long though.

    Now you have me interested in How the States Got Their Shapes. Didn’t know it was a book. I want to read it now! Your #4 looks interesting too.

    One I want to read this summer is one I have read before years ago: A Severe Mercy. Not fiction, but a very good read (and a true love story) that impressed me when I was younger, is full of letters from C.S. Lewis (a favorite) and has a summery sailing theme throughout. I love that.

    1. Oh! you know what else is good? Sanditon by Jane Austen and “Another Lady” I really enjoyed that one. It takes place at a seaside resort. Wow, I just saw Severe Mercy yesterday…it had a new cover and everything.

  2. I love Gone With the Wind. I know, I know, some people are disgusted because it’s the story of a selfish southern belle. But I first read it when I was 12, and I had a hard time reading the slave’s speech, and I focused mainly on the romance that time. But I have read that book every year, and every time, I discover something I hadn’t caught before, for example, it’s not just a romance, but a tell of a woman coming into her own, and a story of slavery and the civil war, the transformation of the south or the Old South vs the New South, but most of all, for me, it’s the evolution of a woman, who trusted in herself and her intelligence not only to care for herself but those around her…and most of the other characters thought her an uncharitable brat! Ok, okay…enough about Scarlett O’hara…btw, watch the movie, obviously the book is better, and a lot was cut from the story, but the movie does the characters’ justice. Also, I told you the Undead Series was pure candy fun! Glad you liked it…can’t wait till June for the new one! I’ve heard of Ender’s Game, I think I’ll try that one.

  3. I read Gone With the Wind one summer while camping with my family and my copy accidentally got dropped into the lake. Thankfully it was still readable when it dried, lol.

Leave a Reply

