Bite Club by Rachel Caine

I’ve always been a big fan of the Morganville Vampire series because I happen to live in a middle-of-nowhere Texas town. I can relate, I practically live in Morganville, my town even has the “-ville” ending in it.

Basically the scenario in this book is pretty fierce, a fight club between vampires and humans–friends are put against friends. And who do you think gets recruited into this club?

After reading the tenth installment in this series, I feel this book is my least favorite. Not, just because Shane goes psycho and starts abusing everyone he cares for. It just doesn’t have that pizzazz the prior books have.

Before we would see glimpses of kick-ass Claire making her way in this weird town, but in this book she was strangely lack luster and a bit short-sighted in regards to her future. I mean what happened to the wicked awesome Claire from Kiss of Death? I felt like Caine tried to showcase more of Eve in this book with her sudden fencing skills, but I’m so used to people always rushing to her aid, that her sudden ability to protect herself seemed odd. I mean she has a mouth on her, but she really couldn’t do anything beside bedazzle her weapons. Now she’s fighting against the founders of Morganville. Yeah, okay…

Bite Club was definitely about Shane though, and we even get to see some chapters in his point-of-view. I guess this is so we can see how his thoughts and temper quickly transform into something that is not usually himself— so we don’t hate him as much and see he is under the influence of someone else. It worked, I mean I don’t hate him, but I don’t love him either.

Don’t get me wrong I still love this series, but this book was just blah. It just felt like a filler book. I assume if you’ve read this far into the series, you’re in it for the long haul. I am. I’m still going to read the next book, and apparently the one after that. It’s just that this one didn’t shine, but at least this one didn’t end on a cliff hanger either.

I’m really just in it for Myrnin.

What do you guys think?

5 comments

  1. I love kooky Myrnin too!!! And I am glad that Claire can kick butt without having to be saved. ahaha! I hope its not that bad or else I’ll probaly start it but not finish it which is how it was for me in reading the cassandra clare series 4th book City of fallen angels. I am currently on chapter 16 but I have read 3 other books before attempting to go back to that one.

    1. Yeah, that sucks. Especially when you read like a dozen books, and the last one makes you regret reading the others. Bite Club wasn’t like that, but I know some series that were.

    1. He is so handsome! It looks like he is looking directly at you, too bad he is prettier than me. Lol. Remember the beginning of My Girl where he was all over dramatic screaming, “Maria!” Lol. I always remember that.

Leave a Reply

