Books I’m So Happy Were Recommended to Me

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke & The Bookish.

Today it’s Top Ten Books I’m So Happy Were Recommended To Me…

I thought about it and really I couldn’t think of many people who recommended anything to me…Mostly uncoolghoul and a few others…mostly it’s me running my mouth to others. Lol. So I might not make it to ten.

1.100 Love Sonnets: Cien sonetos de amor by Pablo Neruda

My mother has at least three worn copies of this book and a wallet size one for her purse. I used to be too young and immature to understand the beauty of his poetry. Now, I can’t believe there was a time I didn’t want to read this. But really everyone should read it at least once.

2. Undead and Unwed by MaryJanice Davidson

I really couldn’t get into them at first, but they grew on me. I mean Betsy is probably the most self-absorbed protagonist I’ve ever read, but she is freakin’ adorable.

3. Beauty by Robin McKinley

Probably my favorite “Beauty and the Beast” retelling.

4. Confessions of a Shopaholic by Sophie Kinsella

Silly Rebecca Bloomwood! It took me a year to finally read this…

5. Eyes like Stars by Lisa Mantchev

Beatrice Shakespeare Smith, who lives in an enchanted theater that holds a book with every script ever written. Oh! and long-haired heroes. What’s not to love?

6. Dead Until Dark by Charlaine Harris

I never planned to read this, but one of my guy friends said that I had to. I’m so glad I did. I can’t imagine a world without Eric. Lol

7. Fruits Baskets by Natsuki Takaya

I used to associate manga with this girl in high school that everyone avoided because she was annoying, but had this habit of hitting people. It wasn’t until my freshman year of college that I gave it a try because of a friend of mine. Fruits Basket was the first manga I ever read, and it will always be in my top five manga favs.

All I could think of peeps. What about you?

8 comments

  1. i love Pablo Neruda. Although, I haven’t read him in awhile because I only read him when I feel lovey-dovey. But I’m so excited about this list, because I have read a few of them. Some of the books that I completely fell in love with, that were recommended to me were: The Wheel of Time Series…I am such a nerd, I adore these books, and The Electric Kool-Aid Acid Test. I totally felt I was there on the bus with the Merry Pranksters.

    1. I had to look up The Electric Kool-Aid Acid Test…it’s hailed as the essential book on hippies…lol, someone should tell Cartman. Apparently it’s going to be made into a movie this year?

  2. I’m glad I made you read “confessions of a shopaholic” (unless of course it was someone else that was pushing you to..). Make sure you follow it up, until the last one.. “shopaholic and the baby”.. the whole series is awesome!

Leave a Reply

