Top Ten Tuesday: Childhood Favorites

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke & The Bookish.

Today it’s Top Ten Tuesday Rewind — Pick a past Top Ten Tuesday that we’ve done that you didn’t get a chance to participate in. Look here for past topics. I’m going with Childhood Favorites.

1. Chrysanthemum by Kevin Henkes, as a little girl I had a complex about my name being long and this was my favorite book because hers was thirteen letters long and she grew to love her name.

2. Any Tomie dePaola book, but I remember reading this every Christmas.

3. Amelia’s Notebook by Marissa Moss. I loved all the drawings and cramped writing.
4.Where’s Waldo by Martin Handford. C’mon Waldo was always fun to look for.
5. Anything Nancy Drew

6.Chain Letter by Ann M. Martin. I loved everything BSC! I even had a pair of plaid shorts that said “BSC” on the bottom. This book was interactive and had all sorts of letters.
7. The American Girl series, I especially liked Samantha. I still have my doll too.
8. Not that I liked this particular series, but I grew up in church where these were the cool books to read. Four kids didn’t repent so when the rapture came they got left behind. I remember being so scared. The series didn’t even finish till I was in my early twenties.
9.Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery. I loved this world, and I wanted to live on Prince Edward Island when I was a kid.
10. The Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot. Even now, if it’s about princesses I’m there.


What were some of your childhood favorites? I remember there were some books that were like Goosebumps, but I can’t remember the names…

7 comments

  1. I have some of my old childhood favorites still on my shelf because I like to look over and see them and remember why I fell in love with reading in the first place.

    My Friend Flicka and Island of the Blue Dolphins were two that I really loved.

  2. Lol, I was reading the synopsis of #8, thinking it was for Anne of Green Gables, and I was like, “What! That is not at all how I remember Anne of Green Gables” That Left Behind Series gives me the creeps…

  3. Oh my goodness Where’s Waldo! LOVED those books! Love You Forever by Robert Munsch is my ultimate favorite. I was not quite a little child when it came out, but I loved it immediately and still love it. In fact, I can’t read it to my kids without crying! I also really enjoyed the Chronicles of Narnia.

Leave a Reply

