DIY: Custom Bookshelves

Necessity is the mother of invention. We needed more places to stick books in our house besides piling them on the floor.

What you will need: bungee cords (snakes), crates and a ladder.

It all started when I came home and found this (in my bathroom none the less…)

Well for one, I wouldn’t stick my best loved books in the bathroom, other than that I thought it was a wonderful idea (at least for magazines…)

So since we had so many crates and too many books we made a configuration.

We had some rope for kites and left over shoelaces and with those we were able to tie the crates together to our liking.

And going with the same theme, we conveniently have plant hooks outside. For summer it’s a cute idea, personally I’d enjoy it more on a back porch (my neighbors were wondering what the heck I was doing…having a garage sale?..um, no.)

And judging by this picture I think it’s safe to say don’t put million pound books inside the crate. You wouldn’t want your roof to fall down or something…

On a side note, we don’t have a door bell, so we made a door knocker out of a used book. I would have preferred to use a math book, as I really wouldn’t care if someone stole that…It’s loud actually.



Lastly, we used a ladder to make a bookshelf:

I know I’m not going to win Design Star or something, but these ideas work for people with tons of books and a small budget. All you need are snakes, crates and ladders.

Any tips out there on alternate ideas for bookshelves? Lets hear them..

5 comments

  1. This is cute. LOVE the ladder as a bookshelf the best, though. The crates on the cable is cute too, but I since I’m accident prone, my mind automatically thinks of ways this could potentially hurt me, and I just imagine the cable coming loose for some reason and whacking me in the head. Love the pics!

    1. Lol. I like the crates on the floor rather than hanging from anything as well. Plus you could get more creative with stacking if they’re on the floor.

  2. Similar to corrugated fiberboard in overall characteristics, plastic corrugated is typically extruded from polypropylene. Advantages include excellent moisture resistance and increased durability. Also can be use with Foam, corrugated and wood.

  3. @ Dallas Shipping Crates. Wow, thanks for listing the advantages of the crates. I could tell they were pretty durable, since I’ve had them for such a long time. 🙂 It’s actually one of the best ways to move books.

Leave a Reply

