Confessions of a Shopaholic By Sophie Kinsella

Initially I didn’t want to read  Confessions of a Shopaholic, but as it was a gift and highly recommended from a friend of mine I felt obligated to read it. After sitting on my shelf for about a year, and by chance running into the movie on television it sparked my interest in finally reading it. I’m glad I did.

At first Rebecca Bloomwood in theory would seem like the most annoying person in the world, but oddly enough she came across as a likable rascal and just ridiculously  outlandish. Sort of like a Lucille Ball kind of character, you can’t help but like her. You see, Rebecca Bloomwood has a problem with shopping and in the realization that she must cut back, she ends up spending even more.

What really stuck out to me was not her ability to spend so much money on useless things, but her ability to just up and lie about anything. It’s a horrible trait for a character.

Twenty-five year old Miss Bloomwood is a really flawed woman, but what I loved was that she was able to redeem herself and figure out that she is a strong person. She realizes she has people and issues she feels strongly about, and when given the chance to solve her problems easily, she turns it down knowing that it would be wrong to accept someone’s money based on the lies she told them. She’s flawed, but not evil.

The romance was simple, and I would have liked to see more character development with Luke, but I suppose that will happen in the next book, Shopaholic Take Manhattan. Overall it was a fluffy book that still taught a financial message in a fun way. Don’t let it sit on your shelf for a year like I did. Read it.

Here’s a particularly funny snippet:

“I wander round the department,
looking at Louis Vuitton suitcases and calfskin bags,
I’m quite thrown. Quite shocked by
myself. Luggage. Why on earth have I never
considered luggage before?
I should explain—for years now, I’ve kind of operated
under an informal shopping cycle. A
bit like a farmer’s crop rotation system. Except, instead
of wheat-maize-barley-fallow, mine
pretty much goes clothes-makeup-shoes-clothes. (I
don’t usually bother with fallow.)
Shopping is actually very similar to farming a field.
You can’t keep buying the same thing
—you have to have a bit of variety.
But look what I’ve been missing out on all this time.
Look what I’ve been denying myself.
I feel quite shaky as I realize the opportunities I’ve just
been throwing away over the years.
Suitcases, weekend bags, monogrammed hatboxes . . .”

Isn’t she silly? On a side note, I thought Isla Fisher made an excellent Rebecca Bloomwood. What do you guys think?

One comment

  1. I agree with you. This book is fluff. Who hasn’t spent money they shouldn’t be spending to buy something beautiful? I love the irony, Rebecca self-confessed shopaholic, works writing for a finance magazine called Successful Saving! I especially enjoyed Rebecca’s responses to the letters of collection she receives. That being said, this is one of the few occasions I can say that the movie is better than the book. I agree with Bookrain, Isla Fisher was a fantastic Rebecca Bloomwood.

Leave a Reply

