Shrinking Violet by Danielle Joseph

Reading level: Young Adult

Paperback: 320 pages

Publisher: MTV; Original edition (May 5, 2009)

“This is Sweet T live on The Love Shack, hoping all your dreams come true …”

My freshman year in high school my guy friend had a secret crush on Delilah the radio show personality. Every night he would fall asleep listening to Love Songs with Delilah and it was the funniest thing ever.  He’d say her name with sparkles in his eyes.  Needless to say, we teased him often. So I felt that this book was sort of like that but with secret identities, teen aged angst and prom worries.  Teresa Adams, high school senior is often considered mute because she is so shy.

“Might as well admit it–I’m shy. Not the kind where you blush when someone compliments you, but the kind that results in feelings of nausea when meeting new people. When I was little, I thought I was Shy Adams. People would ask my name, and my mother would immediately answer for me, “She’s shy.” She even did it three weeks ago when we met up with some of the radio people at a restaurant. It was so embarrassing because I can no longer hide behind her; rather, she can hide behind me. I’m five inches taller than her and a good thirty-five pounds heavier–I’m the evergreen tree to her palm.”

Her dream job, though is to become a radio DJ, and it is just her luck her stepfather owns a radio station. Through her radio personality “Sweet T” she learns to be comfortable with herself and speak her mind.

Interesting enough, her mother Delilah is portrayed as overly catty, vapid and malevolent and no reason is given as to why. As a reader I felt like Tere’s treatment of her mother was unfair. I didn’t see anything wrong with her mother wanting her daughter to make effort on herself. At least all the pretty characters weren’t portrayed as unlikable as Delilah. In fact the character of “Pop -Tart” was almost exactly like Delilah, except Tere liked her. So I thought that was confusing.

Overall, I felt this book was cute and predictable. It felt like a Disney channel movie. If you want a break from heavy reading this is definitely entertaining. It reminded me of a Meg Cabot book. So jump in, better yet, read it while listening to Danielle Joseph’s playlist for the book.

Leave a Reply

